| Information & Research Support |
| General information | Links to major databases |
Information |
| Alphabetical list of all electronic databases | A+ Education (Informit) | More Information |
| Finding Journal Articles
in Education -- Help in using electronic databases and ejournals |
All
Informit databases |
More Information |
| Indexing / Abstracting Databases for education | ERIC (CSA) | More Information |
| Full Text Databases for education | ERIC : Education Resources Information Center | More Information |
| Other Databases of Interest to Education: General | Subject Specific | InfoTrac | More Information |
| Database Guides | ProQuest 5000 | More Information |
| Remote Access for off-campus access |
JCU General Resources
X Search (Cross Search)
Provides a single access point for searching across the JCU Library's online resources. This portal service allows you to search or browse up to 10 electronic databases or online journal packages and the library catalogue in a single search, then links to the full text of journal articles where available.
E-Journal Portal
Find electronic journals available online at JCU - browse by title/subject lists or search by title/ISSN.
Indexing / Abstracting Databases
AEI: Australian Education Index
AEI is an index to materials, both published and unpublished, at all levels of Australian education and related fields, including educational research, policy, administration, teacher education, curriculum, educational psychology and library and information science. It contains records from 1978 onwards, and includes links to indexed articles available at non-commercial web sites.
It is one of a number of Australian databases available through the Informit service.
- Informit Online Guide
- Australian Thesaurus of Education Descriptors
- List of Core Journals Indexed in AEI. Journal names are linked to their home pages where available.
ERIC Database
ERIC on CSA Internet Database Service is a JCU subscription service. The database is available from 1966 on.
- CSA Internet Database Service Guide
- ERIC Fact Sheet Information about ERIC from CSA
- ERIC database Search the ERIC database 1966-2004
The official U.S. government ERIC database was released in September 2004 and provides a free web site.- ERIC documents i.e. non-journal ED references found in ERIC searches are linked to the full text where available.
- The ERIC Thesaurus is available through both versions of the database.
British Education Index
- The full index is held in print, see R TSV 370.16 BRI (1954+) and R CNS 370.16 BRI (1958-1984; 1991-2002)
- British Education Index
This free version presents information which does not yet appear in the subscription/print version, and the content changes regularly.- British Education Index Thesaurus
- List of journals indexed by the British Education Index
- Education-line: electronic texts in education and training
A free service provided by the British Education Index . Electronic archive of the full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature which supports educational research, policy and practice.Full Text Databases
A+ Education
- Based on the Australian Education Index (AEI)
- Over 245 comprehensively indexed journals with the full text of all articles
- Links to other full text documents such as reports, conference papers
- N.B. Full text journals articles in ACER's EdResearch database (which cost $22 to order) are also available in A+ education.
InfoTrac
- Expanded Academic ASAP International on InfoTrac is a general database with many journals of relevance to Education. It includes many fulltext journals which are listed in Tropicat. Access is for JCU staff and students only.
ProQuest 5000
- ProQuest Education Journals
Includes not only many standard journals for educators at all levels but also periodicals for professionals in related fields. Coverage is from 1988-present. Of the nearly 400 journals indexed and abstracted, most are also available in full text.- Social Science Plus
Indexes journals in the social sciences, including some titles of interest to education, educational sociology and psychology. Includes some full text.- ProQuest 5000 Guide
Databases of Interest to Education
General Databases
- Current Contents Connect
The Current Contents search database provides access to references from over 7500 journals covering many disciplines including Education.- FirstSearch
The FirstSearch service provides access to over forty selected databases of general and academic interest in most subject areas. A password, available from InfoHelp, is required both on and off campus.- IngentaConnect
An index and database of online journals from scholarly and academic publishers such as Blackwell Science, Oxford University Press and Sage. Access has been enabled to the full text of those journals where JCU also subscribes to the print edition. Contents page information is available for all journals in ingenta.- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive
JSTOR is a service which converts back issues of paper journals into electronic format in core fields. The JSTOR archive does not include current issues. Individual titles are entered in Tropicat.- Taylor and Francis Online Journals
This database provides full text access to over 1,000 Taylor & Francis journals. Individual titles are entered in Tropicat.- Web of Science
This database includes: Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, which cover 8,500 of the world's most cited journals. It can be used either for general searches or for "cited reference" searching.Databases on Specific Subjects
- The JCU library subject resources pages list appropriate databases in each discipline area
- Austguide 1986+
Informit database which gives complete subject access to the contents of more than 120 periodicals, of both general and educational interest.
Journals indexed- AustLit
The AustLit database lists creative and critical writing by or about Australian creative authors, including children's authors, from the 1880s to the current day.- DELTAA on Informit
The Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia indexes the literature on teaching and learning English as a second language within Australasia. Coverage is from 1982-86 & 1990 onwards. A list of the journal sources indexed is available.- DELTAA is also available from the NCELTR site.
Alerting and Current Awareness Services
| Education Resources |
|
||
![]()
Please contact Helen Hooper if you have any comments, suggestions or additions.
Links checked November 2005; Page updated March 2007 by lbcy,
Information and Research Support, James Cook University.