Children's Literature
Titles listed are intended to be representative. In general they have been included because of their recency (usually published since 1985), and an attempt has been made to include Australian, American and British material.
Individual children's authors are not given; these can be found in the sources listed, on Tropicat, the Library's online catalogue, or by browsing in the Curriculum Collection.
Children's literature is located in the Curriculum Collection, indicated
by the prefix C.
It is arranged by country of origin, for example:
|
American children's literature |
C810 |
|
British children's literature |
C820 |
|
Australian children's literature |
C820.94 |
Alderman, B. (1989). The Ashton Scholastic guide: Best books
for children. Sydney: Ashton Scholastic. R011.62 ALD
Arnold, J. S. & Piccinin, T. (1985). A practical guide to young
Australian fiction. Sydney: Australian Broadcasting Corporation.
R028.162 ARN
Books for the teen age. (1990). New York: New York Public
Library. R028.535016 BOO 1990
Chambers, N. (Ed.). (1990). The Signal selection of children's
books 1989. Stroud: Thimble Press. R028.162 SIG 1990
Check it out!: An annotated bibliography supporting literature
based reading. (Vols. 1-4.). (1985). Adelaide: Library Association of Australia.
R011.62 CHI
Children's Book of the Year Awards, 1991+: Shortlist information. (1991).
Hunters Hill, N.S.W.: Children's Book Council of Australia. 028.50994 P1
Gillespie, J. T. & Naden, C. J. (Eds.). (1990). Best books for
children: Preschool through grade 6. (4th ed.). New York: Bowker.
R028.52 BES 1990
Greenaway, J. et al. (1983). Outlets for black voices.
Townsville: James Cook University of North Queensland. R305.89915 OUT
Hearne, B. G. (1990). Choosing books for children: A commonsense
guide. New York: Delacorte. R028.55 HEA 1990
Irving, C. C. & Schafer, D. (1986). The theme-a-saurus:
Oldmeadow's thematic guide to picture story books. Heidelberg, Vic.:
Oldmeadow. R011.625054 IRV
Landsberg, M. (1986). Michele Landsberg's guide to children's
books: With a treasury of more than 350 great children's books. New York: Penguin.
011.62 LAN
Lima, C. W. & Lima, J. A. (1989). A to zoo: Subject access to
children's picture books. (3rd ed.). New York: Bowker. R011.62 LIM 1989
Literature for adolescents. (Vols. 1-2.). (1984-). Adelaide:
Education Department of South Australia. R028.162 LIT
Lutrario, C. (1990). Hooked on books Volume 2. London: Harcourt
Brace Jovanovich. 372.6 HOO
Lynn, R. N. (1989). Fantasy literature for children and young
adults: An annotated bibliography. (3rd ed.). New York: Bowker.
R028.52 LYN 1989
Muir, M. (1970-76). A bibliography of Australian children's books.
(Vols. 1-2). Ultimo, N.S.W.: Hutchinson. R028.520994 MUI
Noel, E. (Ed.). (1990). The new classics: A selection of award-winning
children's books. (2nd ed.). Sydney: Australian Library and
Information Association. R028.5 NEW
O'Neill, F. & O'Neill, T. (1989). Australian children's books to 1980: a
select bibliography of the collection held in the National Library of Australia.
Canberra: National Library of Australia. R011.62 NAT
Primary English Teaching Association. (2000). Kids best Australian
books for children and young adults 1996-2000. Marrickville, N.S.W.:
The Association. R028.162 KID
Queensland. Department of Education. (1990). Literature P - 3: a resource list.
Brisbane: Dept. of Education. R011.62 LIT
Queensland. Department of Education. (1991). Literature 3 - 7: a resource list.
Brisbane: Dept. of Education. R011.62 LIT
Saxby, H. M. & Smith, G. (1991). First choice: a guide to the best books for
Australian children. Melbourne: O.U.P. R011.62 SAX
Sheahan, R. (1990). Shortlist for the 1990 Book of the Year Awards. Brisbane:
Children's Book Council of Australia. 028.50994 SHE
Simkin, J. E. (Ed.). (1991). Subject guide to Australian children's books in print.
Melbourne: D.W.Thorpe. R028.534016 SUB
Taylor, B. & Braithwaite, P. (Eds.). (1985). The good book guide to children's
books. Harmondsworth: Penguin. R011.62 GOO 1986
Authors and illustrators scrapbook: featuring 24 creators of Australian children's
books. (1991). Norwood, S.A.: Omnibus. C820.94092 AUT
Bingham, J. (Ed.). (1988). Writers for children: critical studies of major authors
since the seventeenth century. New York: Scribner's. R803 WRI T2
Chevalier, T. & Kirkpatrick, D. L. (Eds.). (1989). Twentieth century children's
writers. (3rd ed.). Chicago: St. James Press. 808.3 TWE 1989
Dunkle, M. (1987). The story makers: a collection of interviews with Australian
and New Zealand authors and illustrators for young people. Melbourne:
Oxford University Press. R028.5 STO
Dunkle, M. (1989). Story makers II. Melbourne: Oxford University Press.
R028.5 STO
Estes, G.E. (1986). American writers for children since 1960: fiction.
Detroit, Mich.: Gale. R810.3 AME T8
Holtze, S. H. (Ed.). (1989). Sixth book of junior authors and illustrators. New
York: H.W.Wilson. R028.52092 JUN 1989
Lloyd, P. (Ed.). (1987). How writers write. North Ryde, N.S.W.: Methuen
Australia. 808.068 HOW
McVitty, W. (1989). Authors and illustrators of Australian children's books.
Sydney: Hodder & Stoughton. R820.93A MACV
McVitty, W. (1981). Innocence and experience: essays on contemporary
Australian children's writers. Melbourne: Nelson. 820.93A MACV
McVitty, W. (1989). International children's authors. Melbourne: Macmillan.
C820.093 MACV
Nieuwenhuizen, A. (1991). No kidding: top writers for young people talk about
their work. Melbourne: Sun. C820.94 NOK
Paterson, K. (1989). The spying heart: more thoughts on reading and writing
books for children. New York: Lodestar. 810 PAT(K) 3 PAT
Stott, J. C. (1984). Children's literature from A to Z: a guide for parents and
teachers. New York: McGraw-Hill. R820.9 STO
Townsend, J. R. (1971). A sense of story: essays on contemporary writers for
children. Boston: Horn Book. 028.52092 TOW
Walker, M. (1977). Writers alive: current Australian authors of books for
children. Perth: Westbooks. 028.52 WAL
Cairney, T. (1990). Other worlds: the endless possibilities of literature.
Melbourne: Nelson. C372.6 CAI
Corcoran, B. & Evans, E. (Eds.). (1987). Readers, texts, teachers. Upper
Montclair, N.J.: Boynton. 807 REA
Edwards, H. (1980). Discussing literature. Malvern, Vic.: Sorrett.
C809 EDW
Fenwick, G. (1990). Teaching children's literature in the primary school.
London: Fulton. 372.64 FEN
Ferguson, L. (1985). Teaching through literature in the primary school.
Brisbane: Queensland Department of Education. 372.64 FER
Hanzl, A. (1986). East of the sun, west of the moon: children's literature in the
classroom. Melbourne: Dove. 372.64 HAN
Hayhoe, M. & Parker, S. (Eds.). (1990). Reading and response. Milton
Keynes: Open University Press. 428.4 REA
Hewitt, M. (Ed.). (1986). Reading and teaching children's literature. Rozelle:
English Teachers' Association of NSW. C820.93 REA
Hill, S. E. (1986). Books alive!: using literature in the classroom. Melbourne:
Nelson. 372.64 HIL
Hoogstad, V. & Saxby, H. M. (Eds). (1988). Teaching literature to adolescents.
Melbourne: Nelson. 807 TEA
Jackson, D. (1983). Encounters with books: teaching fiction 11-16. London:
Methuen. 807 JAC
Kulleseid, E. R. & Strickland, D. S. (1989). Literature, literacy and learning:
classroom teachers, library media specialists, and the literature-based
curriculum. Chicago: American Library Association. 372.4 KUL
Literature ideas for upper primary. (1984). Brisbane: Queensland Department
of Education. 372.64 LIT
Lutrario, C. (1990). Hooked on books: children reading fiction: Vol. 1. London:
Harcourt Brace Jovanovich. 372.6 HOO
McConaghy, J. (1990). Children learning through literature: a teacher
researcher study. Portsmouth, N.H.: Heinemann. 372.64044 MACC
McVitty, W. (1989). PETA guide to children's literature. Rozelle, N.S.W.:
Primary English Teaching Association. 028.52 PET 1989
Marriott, S. (1991). Picture books in the primary classroom. London: Paul
Chapman. 372.6 MAR
O'Sullivan, C. (1987). The challenge of picture books: a teacher's guide to the
use of picture books with older students. North Ryde, N.S.W.: Methuen
Australia. R011.62 OSU
O'Sullivan, C. (1988). Australian literature in the primary school. Canberra:
Curriculum Development Centre. 372.640994 AUS
Rudman, M. K. (ed.). (1989). Children's literature: resource for the classroom.
U.S.: Christopher Gordon. 810.9 CHI
Saxby, H. M. & Winch G. (Eds.). (1991). Give them wings: the experience of
children's literature. (2nd ed.). Melbourne: Macmillan.
809 GIV 1991
Short, H. (1989). Using books in the classroom. Leamington Spa: Scholastic.
C372.623 SHO
Stewig, J. W. & Sebesta, S. L. (Eds.). (1989). Using literature in the elementary
classroom. (rev. ed.). Urbana, Ill.: National Council of Teachers of
English. 372.64 USI 1989
Taught not caught. (1986). Warun Ponds, Vic.: Deakin University.807 TAU
Thomas, R. & Perry, A. (1984). Into books: 101 literature activities for the
classroom. Melbourne: Oxford University Press. C372.64044 THO
Thomson, J. (1987). Understanding teenagers' reading: reading processes and
the teaching of literature. North Ryde, N.S.W.: Methuen. 807 THO
Tyrrell, M. L. & Webb, J. S. (1988). Storylines. Melbourne: Oxford University
Press. 372.64 TYR
Watson, K. D. et al. (Eds.). Reading is response. First supplement: further
suggestions for teaching novels in upper primary and secondary schools.
Sydney: St Clair Press. 807 REA T2
Anderson, C. C. & Apseloff, M. F. (1989). Nonsense literature for children:
Aesop to Seuss. Hamden, Conn.: Library Professional Publications.
809 AND
Avery, G. & Briggs, J. (Eds.). (1989). Children and their books: a celebration
of the work of Iona and Peter Opie. Oxford: Clarendon.820.9 CHI T2
Blishen, E. (Ed.). The thorny paradise: writers on writing for children.
Harmondsworth: Kestrel. 808.068 THO
Carpenter, H. & Prichard, M. (1984). Oxford companion to children's literature.
Oxford: Oxford University Press. R820.3 CAR
Chambers, A. (1985). Booktalk: occasional writing on literature and children.
London: Bodley. 809 CHA
Chester, T. (1989). Children's books research: a practical guide to techniques
and sources. Stroud: Thimble Press. 028.5072 CHE
Cott, J. (Ed.). (1983-86). Masterworks of children's literature. (Vols. 1-8.). New
York: Stonehill. 028.5 MAS
Crouch, M. (1970). Treasure seekers and borrowers: children's books in Britain
1900-1960. London: Library Association. 028.52 CRO
Darton, F. J. H. & Alderson, B. (1982). Children's books in England: five
centuries of social life. (3rd ed.). Cambridge: Cambridge University
Press. 028.509 DAR 1982
Egoff, S. et al. (1980). Only connect: readings on children's literature.
Toronto: Oxford University Press. 028.5 EGO
England, C. & Fasick, A. M. (1987). ChildView: evaluating and reviewing
materials for children. Littleton: Colorado Libraries Unlimited.
028.162 ENG
Foster, J.E., Nimon, M. & Finnis, E.J. (1995.) Australian children's
literature: An exploration of genre and theme. Wagga Wagga,
N.S.W.: Centre for Information Studies, Charles Sturt University.
820.9A FOS
Hunt, P. (Ed.). (1990). Children's literature: the development of criticism.
London: Routledge. 809 CHI
Hunt, P. (1991). Criticism, theory, and children's literature. Oxford: Blackwell.
820.9 HUN
Hurlimann, B. (1968). Three centuries of children's books in Europe.
Cleveland: World Publishing. 028.5 HUR
Lurie, A. (1990). Don't tell the grown-ups: subversive children's literature.
London: Bloomsbury. 820.9 LUR
Meek, M., Barton, G. & Warlow, A. (Eds.). (1977). The cool web: the pattern
of children's reading. London: Bodley Head. 028.5 COO
Niall, B. & O'Neill, F. (1984). Australia through the looking-glass: children's
fiction 1830-1980. Carlton, Vic.: Melbourne University Press.
820.93A NIA
Nodelman, P. (1985-1989). Touchstones: reflections on the best in children's
literature. (Vols. 1-3). West Lafayette, IN.: Children's Literature
Association. 809 TOU
Norton, D. E. (1991). Through the eyes of a child: an introduction to children's
literature. (3rd ed.). New York: Merrill. 028.534 NOR 1991
Saxby, H. M. (1998). Offered to children: A history of Australian
children's literature 1841 - 1941. Sydney: Scholastic Australia.
028.5 SAX
Sendak, M. (1988). Caldecott & Co.: notes on books and pictures.
London: Reinhardt. 028.534 SEN
Stone, M. (Ed.). (1991). Children's literature and contemporary theory.
Wollongong, N.S.W.: University of Wollongong. 820.9 CHI
Sutherland, Z., Arbuthnot, M. H. & Monson, D. L. (1991). Children and books.
(8th ed.). Glenview, Ill.: Scott, Foresman. 028.5 SUT 1991
Townsend, J. R. (1983). Written for children: an outline of English-language
children's literature. (2nd ed.). Harmondsworth: Kestrel.
028.5 TOW 1983
Hamilton, M. (1993). The picture people: Illustrators of contemporary Australian picture books. Sydney: Margaret Hamilton Books. 741.642092 HAM Stodart, E. (1985). Writing and illustrating for children. Dickson, A.C.T.: Children's Book Council. 820.93A WRI
Books for Keeps, no.60, 1990+ 028.162 P1
Books for Your Children, 12, 1976+ R028.52 P5
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, 1, 1947-1996 028.52 P2
Children's Literature, no.1, 1972+ 028.5 P8
Children's Literature Abstracts, no.6, 1974+ 028.52 P8
Children's Literature in Education, 2, 1971+ 028.5 P4
Horn Book Magazine, 46, 1970+ 028.5 P1
The Literature Base, 1, 1990+ 028.5 P9
Magpies: Talking about Books for Children, 5, 1990+ 028.5 P10
Orana: Journal of School and Children's Librarianship, 13, 1977+027.625 P1
Papers: Explorations into Children's Literature, 1, 1990+ 809 P26
Reading Time, no.37, 1970+ 028.5 P2
Reviewpoint, no.1, 1979+ R028.52 P3
Signal: Approaches to Children's Books, 19, 1976+ 028.5 P7
Education Librarian's Homepage |
![]() | ||