Web Mail | LearnJCU | Contacts | Bulletins | Campus Maps
   Information For > Prospective Students | International Students | Current Students | Visitors | Staff | Jobs at JCU
Information About > The University | Research | Teaching | Courses & Degrees | Faculties & Divisions | Library & Computing

Education Guide

* Dictionaries and Other Reference Items * Electronic Information Resources
* Using Tropicat * Educational Tests
* Journal Articles * Guides to Theses
* Journal Indexes and Abstracts * Bibliographic Referencing
* Printed Indexes and Abstracts * Curriculum Materials


Download
Download
an abbreviated version in Word97

This guide is designed to help you find the information you will need to write assignments, to prepare seminars and to undertake projects and research. It is by no means a comprehensive guide, and you will need to use Tropicat to locate other relevant material. An abbreviated printed version is also available.

If you have difficulty in locating material, or in using any of the library resources, please ask for help at InfoHelp.

Items with call numbers with the location prefix R are shelved in the Reference Collection. Call numbers without a prefix are held in the general collection. Unless otherwise indicated, items are held in both Townsville and Cairns.

Dictionaries and Other Reference Items

When you begin to study and research a topic, you may be confronted by unfamiliar terms and concepts. It is important that you understand these before trying to find books and journal articles. Definitions and explanations can be found in the specialised dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias and other reference tools which are mostly located in the Reference Collection.

The following list is a selection of print references in the education area:

    Barrow, R. & Milburn, G. (1990). Critical dictionary of educational concepts. (2nd ed.). Hemel Hempstead: Harvester Wheatsheaf. TSV R 370.3 BAR 1990
    Byram, M.(Ed.). (2000). Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning. London: Routledge. R 418.0071 ROU
    Berliner, D. C. & Calfee, R. C. (Eds.). (1996). Handbook of educational psychology. New York: Prentice Hall. 370.15 HAN
    Corsini, R. J. (Ed.). (1994). Encyclopedia of psychology (4 vols.). (2nd ed.). New York: Wiley. R 150.3 ENC T3 1994
    Corson, D. (1997). Encyclopedia of language & education. (8 vols.). Dordrecht: Kluwer. 418.007 ENC
    Crystal, D. (2003). The Cambridge encyclopedia of the English language. (2nd ed.). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. R 420 CRY 2003
    Dunkin, M. J. (Ed.). (1987). The international encyclopedia of teaching and teacher education. Sydney: Pergamon. R 371.100202 INT
    Ellington, H., Percival, F. & Race, P. (1993). Handbook of educational technology. London: Kogan Page. TSV 371.3078 PER 1993
    Entwistle, N. J. (Ed.). (1990). Handbook of educational ideas and practices. London: Routledge. TSV 370 HAN T2
    Grant, C.A. & Ladson-Billings, G. (Eds.). (1997). Dictionary of multicultural education. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press. TSV 370.11703 DIC
    Husen, T. & Postlethwaite, T. N. (Eds.). (1994). International encyclopedia of education. (12 vols.). (2nd ed.). Oxford: Pergamon. R 370.3 INT
    Lewy, A. (Ed.). (1991). International encyclopedia of curriculum. Oxford: Pergamon. TSV 375 INT
    Marsh, C. J. (1996). Handbook for beginning teachers. Melbourne: Addison Wesley Longman. 371.1 MAR
    McBrien, J. L. & Brandt, R. S. (1997). The language of learning: A guide to education terms. Alexandria, Va.: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. TSV R 370.3 MACB
    Penguin Macquarie dictionary of Australian education. (1989). Ringwood, Vic.: Penguin. R 370.994 PEN
    Squire, L. R. (1992). Encyclopedia of learning and memory. New York: Macmillan. TSV R 153.103 ENC
    Williams, L. R. & Fromberg, D. P. (Eds.). (1992). Encyclopedia of early childhood education. New York: Garland. TSV R 372.2103 ENC
    Williams, P. (1991). The special education handbook: An introductory reference. Milton Keynes: Open University Press. R 371.903 WIL

Using Tropicat

TROPICAT is the online catalogue at James Cook University Library. It is available in both web and text versions, and guides are available. All books, journals and audio-visual items held in the library collections are listed in Tropicat. You can use Tropicat to search for items you already know about by author, title or call number, or for unknown items on a particular subject, using keywords or exact subject headings.

Examples of subject headings include:

Education
Audio-visual education
Aborigines, Australian -- Education
Drama in education
English language -- Study and teaching
Geography -- Australia -- Study and teaching
Education -- Periodicals

Note that subject headings can have one or more subheadings.

If you have any trouble using Tropicat, or can't find any relevant resources, please ask at InfoHelp.

Top of Page

Journal Articles

If you require more detailed or up-to-date discussion of a topic, or basic research results, you will probably need to look for journal articles. More detailed information about journals and articles is in the Journal Articles section of VISA: Virtual Information Skills Activity, and in the Finding Journal Articles guide.

You can find journals on a particular subject in Tropicat using keywords from your subject with the subheading "Periodicals".

References to journal articles may be listed in your reading lists or textbooks. Individual articles published in journals are not entered in Tropicat. Each journal is regarded as an entity and the overall journal title is recorded in Tropicat. This entry will tell you the call number and the volumes held.

There are many journals dealing with education in general and with specific areas, e.g.

Australian Journal of Education, 1, 1957+ 370 P1
Australian Journal of Remedial Education, 5, 1973+ 371.9 P10
Classroom: The Magazine for Teachers, 3, 1983+ 371.102 P1
Curriculum Perspectives, 1, 1980+ 375 P5
Discourse: The Australian Journal of Educational Studies, 1, 1980+ 370 P63
English in Australia, 1, 1965+ 420.7 P1
Remember this is only a small example of the titles available in the library collections. Consult Tropicat to find other titles, or ask at InfoHelp if you have any questions.

To find individual journal articles on a narrower topic or by a specific author you will need to use appropriate journal indexes and abstracts. See the next section for more information.

N.B. Remember that terms such as periodicals, journals, serials and magazines are synonymous.

Journal Indexes and Abstracts

It is impossible to scan the contents pages of all the journals of major and minor relevance whenever information is needed. Instead, a periodical index covering that subject area is chosen and searched for articles on the topic. Each index selects a large number of journals (sometimes thousands) and lists the articles in each issue by author and by subject. Many journal indexes include short summaries or abstracts of the articles indexed and are therefore also known as abstracts.

Journal indexes and abstracts may be produced in a number of different formats.

Printed Indexes and Abstracts

The Library holds a wide variety of printed journal indexes, covering a range of subject areas.

Remember that indexes will include much material which is not held in the Library. Unless you are conducting postgraduate research, you will have access only to those journals located in the Library.

The use of indexes and abstracts is covered more fully in VISA: Virtual Information Skills Activity, there is a general Library handout called Finding Journal Articles, and a general Online Tutorial.

The following indexes are a selection of those held in print and not available on the Web:

    British Education Index, 1, 1954/58+		R 370.16 BRI
Covers more than 200 journals published in Britain, as well as internationally
published journals.

    Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography, 1, 1927+
							R 155.4 P1

    Exceptional Child Education Resources, 1, 1969+
							R 371.9 P1
Designed as a resource for administrators, researchers, teachers, psychologists
and others concerned with disabled and gifted children.

    Language Teaching, 1, 1969+				R 407 P1 

    Multicultural Education Abstracts, 1, 1982+		R 370.196 P4

    School Organisation & Management Abstracts, 1, 1982+
							R 371.2 P9

    Sociology of Education Abstracts, 1, 1965+		R 370.19 P1
[Top of page]

Electronic Information Resources

Many useful electronic information resources, including electronic journals, databases and reference materials, are available through the Internet computer network. So far these resources complement but do not replace print resources.

JCU Library Services subscribe to an increasing number of databases which are available only to staff and students of the University, and may require a login and password. For these you will need to come to InfoHelp in person with your student card to be given access information.

Access is available through the Library Resources page. Guides to most databases are available on the InfoHelp Guides & Tutorials page.

An Alphabetical list of databases is available, also a list of Electronic Databases for Education, with links and more detail for the following:

AEI: Australian Education Index

One of a number of Australian databases available throught the Informit service.

ERIC (1966 to present)

There are a number of ERIC Resources on the Web. To search the ERIC database, select the appropriate link.

InfoTrac

Expanded Academic ASAP International on InfoTrac is a general database with some fulltext articles of relevance to Education.

ProQuest Education Journals

About 300 of the journals indexed and abstracted are available in full text.

Education Links

The Education Librarian maintains a homepage on the WWW which includes links to World Wide Web resources which have been checked for relevance, authority and timeliness.

Guides to Educational Tests

The Library does not hold tests, but does hold various lists and reference guides to test materials. Some of these include:
     Buros, O. K. (Ed.). (1965- ).  Mental measurements yearbook. Highland 
Park, NJ: Gryphon.					R 155.28 P1

     Buros, O. K. (Ed.). (1968-1975).  Reading: Tests and reviews I and II.  
Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon.				R 153.944284 REA
							R 153.944284 REA T2

     Mitchell, J. V. (Ed.). (1983).  Tests in print III.  Lincoln,
NE: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements.		R 155.28 TES T3 1983

     Sweetland, R. C. & Keyser, D. J. (Eds.). (1991).  TESTS: A comprehensive
reference for assessments in psychology, education and business. (3rd ed.).
Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of America.		R 155.28 TES 1991
Relevant links are listed on the Classroom Assessment and Evaluation page.

Guides to Theses

An important source of original research is provided by theses. Educational theses produced at James Cook University are listed in Tropicat under author, title, department and/or subject. They are shelved in the Special Collections section and must be used in the Library.

Australian theses are indexed in the Australian Education Index. There is also a Theses and Style Guide Manual available.

Curriculum Materials

  • Curriculum guidelines, syllabuses and other official documents published by State Departments of Education are generally located in the Reference Collection.

    e.g. Queensland. Department of Education R 375 QUE

    A separate guide to Curriculum Documents on the Web is also available.

  • Curriculum materials designed for use by teachers or school students are located in the Curriculum Collection. See the separate Guide to the Curriculum Collection for more information.

  • Books dealing with curriculum theory are located in the main collection, journals in the periodical collection. To find specific titles see Tropicat.

Education Resources [Top of
page]

 

JCU Library | Tropicat | School of Education | JCU Homepage

Please contact Helen Hooper if you have any comments, suggestions or additions.

If this information is inadequate, incorrect, or can be improved in any way, please let us know