 |
An InfoHelp How To...? Guide
|
|
Netscape is a graphical web browser which provides
a number of features, including Communicator (web browsing), Messenger
(e-mail), and Composer (creating web pages).
To use Netscape on the JCUnet, you must configure
Netscape.
Creating a Profile
Setting a Home Page
Automatic Proxy Server Configuration
Configuring LDAP Directory
Auto-lookup of Directory Server
Profiles
Profiles allow more than one person to use and personalize Netscape.
Profiles also allow you to move your details, folders, bookmarks
etc to another computer.
To create a profile, close down all sessions of Netscape that are
currently running.
-
From the Start Button, choose Program, Netscape
Communicator, Utilities, User Profile Manager. Choose New
to create a new profile. Then click the Next
button.
-
The dialogue box will require you to enter your name and
e-mail address. Your e-mail address will have been given to
you when your computer account was created, it will be of
the form firstname.lastname@jcu.edu.au
-
The next dialogue box will set your profile name as the name
you entered and will set a directory to store your details.
Accept these by clicking on the Next button.
-
Now to set up your mail server details. The first mail server
dialogue box requires the details of the outgoing mail server.
In the SMTP server field type, smtp.jcu.edu.au Click
on the Next button to accept these details.
-
The next step is to put in your incoming mail server details.
Fill out these fields as shown below, except for the mail
server user name which will be your account code / login id,
which takes the form jc000000 or fac-aaa. Click
on the Next button, when the fields have
been filled out.


Home
Page
Your browser home page is the page that your browser goes to when
you click on the Home button. Netscape has as its default homepage
http://home.netscape.com/
If you want another page (eg the JCU homepage as your browser's
homepage), from the Edit menu:
-
Choose Preferences
-
From the Category list, choose Navigator.
-
In the "Navigator starts witI:" field, check Home
page. (Your browser will open up with the page that you
set as your home page.
-
In the Location box:, type in the name of the designated
home page. For the JCU home page: http://www.jcu.edu.au
-
Click on the OK button to save the settings.

Automatic Proxy Configuration
The autoproxy takes you to the proxy gateway which lets you get
through the firewall.
To autoconfigure the proxy server, from the Edit
menu:
Configuring the LDAP directory
LDAP Directory Services provide access to names, e-mail address
and phone numbers via search facilities. This can also be integrated
with sending of e-mail, in that Netscape Messenger will auto-fill
e-mail addresses if matching entries are found.
To configure your LDAP directory, start up Netscape and from the
Communicator menu:
-
Select Address Book, this will load the Address
book window.
-
From the Address Book File menu, choose New
Directory.
-
Fill in the Directory Server Property window as shown below.

Configuring for Auto-lookup of Directory
Server
This is used if you want Netscape messenger to automatically look
up the names of JCU users as you compose a message.
To set up Auto-lookup, with start Netscape and from the Edit
Menu:
-
Choose Preferences;
-
From the Category list, choose Mail & Newsgroups.
If the Mail & Newsgroups category is not open (ie no branch
collapsed underneath it), then double click on Mail &
Newsgroups.
-
Under the Mail & Newsgroups category choose, Addressing.
-
Fill out the fields as illustrated below.

|