Web Mail | LearnJCU | Contacts | Bulletins | Campus Maps
   Information For > Prospective Students | International Students | Current Students | Visitors | Staff | Jobs at JCU
Information About > The University | Research | Teaching | Courses & Degrees | Faculties & Divisions | Library & Computing

Outlook Express

InfoHelp Logo

An InfoHelp How To...? Guide

Download button

Download
this guide in Word97

 

Outlook Express is an e-mail package that can either be accessed directly or through Internet Explorer. You can download Internet Explorer from the JCU ftp mirror site.

IMPORTANT: Outlook Express is not available on the General Access and Teaching Facilities. Use IMP instead.

Starting Outlook Express Sending Mail Attachments - Sending
Setting Up - Mail Accounts Checking Mail Attachments - Viewing
Setting Up - LDAP Directory Services Reading Mail Deleting Messages
Mail Folders Replying JCU Directory Services
Composing a Message Forwarding Help

 

Getting Started

You will need to know your account code (also known as login or username), your password and e-mail address in order to use e-mail on the JCUnet.

If you have not received computer account details or if you don't know what they are, then visit InfoHelp in the library building or call extension 5500.

Starting Outlook Express

Start Outlook Express by either:

 
MS Outlook Icon
  • double clicking on the Outllook icon
OR
 

 

 
Mail Icon
  • clicking on the Mail Icon in Internet Explorer

 

If this is the first time you are using Outlook Express, or if Outlook Express has been set up for someone else, then you will need to set it up as shown below.

Top

Setting up Outlook Express

Mail

To set up Outlook Express Mail service:

  • From the Tools Menu choose Accounts

  • Choose Add, Mail

  • You will then see an Internet Connection Wizard which will ask you for your Display Name. This is the name that will appear in the From: field when you send a message. Type in your name as you would like it to appear. Then click on the Next button.

  • On the next screen the Internet Connection Wizard will ask you to enter your e-mail address. Check the "I already have an e-mail address that I'd like to use" circle and then type in your JCU e-mail address which was issued to you with your computer account code and password. Your e-mail address takes the form firstname.lastname@jcu.edu.au Then click on the Next button.

  • You will now be asked for the details of the e-mail servers. Enter the information as shown below and click on the Next button.

Mail Servers
    • The Internet Connection Wizard will now require you to put in your account details (your account code will be of the form jc000000 or fac-aaa). If you check "Remember Password", then you will need to enter your password, in the password box. If you do this then you will not have to enter your password each time you open your Outlook Express. However, another user will have access to your e-mail Click on the Next button.

    • You have now finished setting up your mail server. Click on the Finish button.

    • Set this as your default mail server and then click on the close button.

Top

LDAP Directory Services

The LDAP directory Services allow you to search for names, e-mail address and phone numbers. You can do this by using the Find facility.

To set up Outlook Express LDAP service:

  • From the Tools Menu choose Accounts

  • Choose Add, Directory Service

  • This will load the Internet Connection Wizard. Fill out the fields as illustrated below and then click on the Next button.

LDAP Settings

  • The next setup window allows you to choose to have Outlook auto-lookup names when sending e-mail. To choose this option choose Yes, otherwise leave the setting as No. Click on the Next button.

  • Click on the Finish button to save the settings.

  • Choose Properties, and click on the Advanced tab. Set up your Search base, as set out below.

 

Ldap Properties

  • Click OK to save your settings.

  • Click on the Close button to close the window and save the settings.

     

Top

Mail Folders

Outlook Express has two sets of mail folders (as shown below).

Email Folders

You can open any of these mail folders by double clicking on them.

Top

New Mail Button    Composing Mail to Send

To start a new message, click on the New Mail button. This will start a compose window. When sending e-mail you must put the e-mail address of the person(s) to whom you are sending (e.g.. user@somewhere.com.au) in the To: field. It is a good idea to put a brief description of the contents of the message in the Subject: field.

The Cc: field (carbon copy) allows you to send the message to another recipient by typing their e-mail address in here.

Use the Tab key or the mouse to move between the text entry boxes.

Click on the message area and type your message. The contents of the message can either be typed in directly, copied and pasted from another file.

Top

Send Button    Sending Mail

When you have finished composing your message, click on the Send button, to send your mail.

Checking Mail

To check new mail in your inbox, double click on the IMAP Inbox folder. New messages will be listed in bold text.

Reading Mail

Read e-mail messages by double clicking on the e-mail message with your mouse. This will invoke a message window containing sender details, the subject, as well as the text of the message.

Top

Rep;y Button   Replying to a Message

You can reply to a message by clicking on the Reply button. This will give you a compose window. The To: field and the Subject: field will be filled in for you already. The Re: prefix at the beginning of the subject line denotes that you are replying to that subject. The original message contents will be visible in the text area and this can be edited.

Once you have composed your reply you can click on the Send button to send the reply.

Top

Forward Button    Forwarding a Message

To forward a message to another recipient click on the Forward button. This will give you a compose window. Enter the address/addresses of the forwardee in the To: field. The Subject: field picks up the subject of the original message and adds the text Fw, in front of it. You may change the subject if you wish.

You can compose a message to be sent with the original message, which you are forwarding on.

To send this, click on the Send button.

Top

Attachment Button     Sending Attachments

To send an attachment compose a message as normal.

Click on the Attach button and choose the file or web page to attach, select Open and send the message as normal.

Viewing Attachments

If you have received a message with an attachment you will see the name of the attached file/s in the AttacI:field. Double click on the file name to open the attachment. To open an attachment you will need to have an application that can read the file (e.g. if it is a Word 97 document you will need to have Word 97 or greater installed on your computer).

To save the attachment to disk without first viewing it, with your cursor on the file name, right click on the attachment and choose Save.

Top

 

Delete Button   Purge Button    Deleting Messages

IMAP Folders

To delete from IMAP folders, click on the message to be deleted. Either click on the Delete button or press the delete key. A line will appear through the message information indicating that it has been marked for deletion.

Note that at this stage, the message is only marked for deletion, it has not actually been deleted. To delete the messages that are marked for deletion, click on the Purge button. This will delete all messages that have been marked for deletion.

Local Folders

To delete from local mail folders, click on the message to be deleted. Either click on the Delete button or press the delete key. This will place the message into the Deleted Items folder. To remove messages from this folder, click on the Purge button (this removes all messages from this folder).

Top

Find Button   JCU Directory Services

The JCU directory services allow you to search for JCU users and returns their name, e-mail address and phone number.

To use this facility, you must firstly set up an LDAP directory service. Once you have done this, click on the pull-down menu, on the Find button, and choose People.

    • You can enter the name or part of the name in the Name box, e.g. Flintstone will return you all users with the surname Flintstone

    • In the E-mail box you can put all or the first part of an e-mail address and it will find all users with that name.

 

LDAP Search

Top

Help

For additional information and help, try the Help menu.

Top

Divider

 

 

If this information is inadequate, incorrect, or can be improved in any way, please let us know