JCU - Creating Web Pages on the JCU Server
Web Sitemap | Search | A-Z Index | Contacts | Bulletins | Campus Maps | Events
   Information For > Prospective Students | International Students | Current Students | Visitors | Staff | Jobs at JCU
Information About > The University | Research | Teaching | Courses & Degrees | Faculties & Divisions | Library & Computing

Creating Web Pages on the JCU Server

InfoHelp LogoAn InfoHelp How To...? Guide

 

Download
Download

this guide in Word97

You want to make a web page? Before starting there are a few things you need to consider:

Your own personal web page will be stored in the public_html folder in your computer account space in your home drive.

The default account space on the central UNIX server is 10Mb for Undergraduates, postgraduates and staff.

It's possible to use almost any word processor to create web pages, or a simple text editor like Notepad & TextEdit (these come with Windows and MacOS) or pico (UNIX text editor) or you may have access to specialist software for creating web pages like FrontPage or Dreamweaver.

This How To...? Guide is primarily designed for use by students using the General Access and Teaching Computer Facilities (GATCF).

Creating/authoring a home page
HTML Tags
Putting Web pages on the server
File Permissions
Viewing your page on the web!

 

Creating/authoring a home page

Designate a homepage

A home page is the one that a user will see if they use a URL (web address) without a filename. If you go to http://www.jcu.edu.au/ you will go to the university's homepage.

The most common homepage filename is index.html So when you go to the university's homepage, you will go to www.jcu.edu.au/index.html

You can create your homepage (ie index.html) file in a number of ways, including using Microsoft Frontpage (easy way) or by using text editors (need to know HTML codes).

Simple way, using Microsoft Frontpage

  1. To open Frontpage select the icon from the Novell desktop application window;
  2. Type up your web page. This is like using a word processor, except it does the HTML for you. You can add backgrounds, targets, images, tables, bullets etc.
  3. Creating hyperlinks is easy - just highlight the text/graphic that you want to turn into a link, press on the link button in the toolbar (looks like a piece of chain) and type in the location of the destination;
  4. Graphics that you add are separate files. Remember to include them, when moving your files into your home directory.
  5. Save your finished page to disk as index.html - next you need to put your HTML files in the right place for all the world to view!
  6. Alternatively save directly to your Home Drive (if you are in the GATCF) in your public_html folder. Your files are now stored in the right place!
    • In the GATCF PC Labs the Home Drive will appear as another drive in LabExplore and will be labelled account_code on homes I:\
    • In the GATCF Mac Labs the Home Drive will appear as another icon called Homes which you can access by double clicking on the icon.

Text editor pico

  1. Log in to email.jcu.edu.au using Putty (if you are in the GATCF), get to the command line (option 13 if you are presented with a menu).
  2. Type in ls (to list files and folders) and press the Enter key- make sure you have a public_html/ directory (if you haven't type in mkdir public_html to make a directory and press enter).
  3. Type in cd public_html to change directory and press the Enter key.
  4. To create a file type in pico index.html - the pico editor will open and you can start typing away in raw HTML in your UNIX account space. See below for some information on HTML tags.
  5. When you have finished, press Ctrl-X to save index.html
  6. Your file is in the right place - you just need to check the file permissions so that the rest of the world can view them!

 

Top of Page

 

HTML Tags

HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) is the common language of the World Wide Web.

HTML files are basically text (ASCII) files that can be read by any computer. HTML files have special tags that can be interpreted by a web browser, such as Netscape so that you can view a nicely formatted file.

HTML tags are commands enclosed between angle brackets < >. Opening and closing versions occur for many tags and they have the same command word between the angle brackets BUT the closing tag carries an additional forward slash symbol (/).

For example <command>some text</command>

 

The basic tags are:

<html>starts your page

<h1>puts a big heading in</h1>

<hr>inserts a horizontal line</hr>

<body>this is where the page content goes

<b>bold text</b>

<i>text in italics</i>

<u>underlined text</u>

<center>centred</center>

<p>starts a new paragraph

<br /> is used for line breaks

<b><i><u>bold, italicised, underlined text</b></i></u>

</body>ends the text

</html>ends your page

your basic web page is complete!

For more info on HTML please refer to some of the following useful pages:

http://www.library.jcu.edu.au/Educ/webdev.html

http://www.cwru.edu/help/introHTML/toc.html

- a list of useful links that lead to various web developing resources

 

Top of Page

 

Putting them on the server for all to see

So that others can see your web pages, make sure that the web page files are in the public_html directory in your Home Directory.

PLEASE NOTE:

File names must not contain spaces.
Web page filenames are case sensitive - on the web, Infohelp.doc and infoHelp.doc are two different files.

Once the files are in place you need to change the file permissions to allow the rest of the world to view them.

Using FTP

If you have created the files and saved them to disk at home on your computer hard drive you can use FTP (file transfer protocol) to get them to your computer account.

The easiest way is to use Internet Explorer.

  1. You need to type in the following location:

ftp://accountcode@homes.jcu.edu.au/

(Your account code, also known as user name and login, takes the form of jc654321 or fac-abc )

  1. You will be asked to enter your password - use the one that you'd use for e-mail You will then have access, via your web browser, to your Home Drive on the central server.

  2. Click on your public_html folder - you will be taken, via the web browser, to your public_html folder

  3. Now just copy and paste the files you wish to upload over to your public_html folder. Select your file and click the Open button. This will upload (or put) the files in the right place.

  4. All that is left is to check the permissions on the file(s)

 

Top of Page

 

File permissions

To check if your web pages already have the correct permissions, type http://www.jcu.edu.au/~account_code/filename.html in the location bar of your browser. If your web page cannot be viewed, check the filename and case. If the pages still cannot be viewed you'll need to change the permissions on the files.

In the GATCF, this part can be done using an application called Putty to access a command line in UNIX (email).

Select Putty from the list of applications in the GATCF Applications window.

In the configuration window, under Host Name type email.jcu.edu.au and select the protocol SSH, then press the Open button. This will open the unix session, where you must place in your JCU account code and password. You will need to select option 13 to access a unix session, which will start you in you home directory.

On the server, each file has three sets of permissions:

1. Owner permissions

2. Group permissions

3. Rest of the world permissions

Each category has 3 levels of permission:

1. Read permission, where the file can only be read (4 points or r)

2. Write permission where the file can be written to or modified (2 points or w)

3. Execute permission where the file can be executed or run (1 point or x)

 

On the central server your public_html folder should have permissions of 755 or:

Owner: Read, Write and Execute - 4+2+1 = 7

Group: Read and Execute - 4+1 = 5

Rest of the World: Read and Execute - 4+1 = 5

 

The files within should have permissions of 644 or:

Owner: Read and Write - 4+2 = 6

Group: Read - 4

Rest of the World: Read - 4

 

To change permissions use the command chmod

  1. To change the permissions of the public_html folder type in chmod 755 public_html and press the Enter key

  2. Change directory to that folder type in cd public_html and press the Enter key

  3. Type ls -l to list all the files in the public_html folder

  4. Change the permissions on your HTML and associated files by typing in chmod 644 filename and press the Enter key, or to make it easier chmod 644 *.* (and press Enter!) which will change everything in the folder at once.

When you use FTP software like CuteFTP (pc) or FETCH (macs) you can change the permissions of files when you move them.

 

To view the end result.

In the location bar of your browser type in: http://www.jcu.edu.au/~accountcode

If all is okay, you should be able to view your home page!

 

Top of Page